iamincharge

Stopping, going, yielding

Posted on: July 15, 2012

“Hey, can you stop being productive for a few minutes and just be a normal kid?” Weekends with friends usually raise comments that question my behavioral “abnormalities”; whether it is raised eyebrows when I ask to borrow a friends blender to whip up some Shakeology for breakfast while everyone else chows on pancakes and sausage or people staring at me when I roll up to the local pool on a mountain bike (helmet and all, that’s probably what they’re looking at; I look like a goon) because I chose the active and eco-friendly method of transportation, I am used to others inquiring about  or challenging my lifestyle. Sometimes though, I do embrace that one, small, normal part of me and just chill for a day. Yesterday was one of those times, hence the lack of a day 17 post.

After spending all day (6 hrs to be exact) canoeing on the river with friends, an Insanity workout and a salad for dinner just weren’t very appealing. So, I fixed up a gluten-free pizza and gluten-free, vegan brownies and vegged on the couch watching Dexter and messing around on the computer. This morning, cue guilty AnnMarie: running around being all productive and stuff. I’m back folks.

Day 17: Today is one of my favorite days because it is all about organizing foods into traffic light groups (green, yellow, red) that signify how often and how much they should be included in your diet. The groups are totally subjective according to your personal preferences, allergies, trigger foods, etc.

My “green” zone: These are foods that I can basically eat as frequently as I like. They are gluten-free (I’m intolerant; if you have allergies or intolerances, make sure your green zone remains free of allergens), vegan (I feel best on a vegan diet; know what type of diet makes you feel best and include those foods), and natural with little to zero added sugar.

  • water
  • sparkling water
  • kombucha
  • coffee
  • tea
  • soy milk
  • almond milk
  • calorie free sports drinks like Powerade Zero
  • avocado
  • carrots
  • jicama
  • greens
  • any raw veggies
  • hummus
  • mango
  • stevia
  • Shakeology
  • brown rice
  • quinoa
  • tempeh
  • beans
  • spices and herbs
  • berries
  • melon
  • pineapple
  • apple
  • g-free, vegan meat substitutes
  • larabars
  • other g-free, vegan nutrition bars
  • sweet potatoes
  • nori
  • salsa
  • peaches/plums/bananas/all fruit
  • rice cakes
  • flaxseed
  • PB2
  • g-free oats

My “yellow” zone: these are foods that I can eat a serving or two of about every 1-2 days. They are not totally unhealthy but I should consume them in moderation because they might contain low-fat dairy, fish, or a few unnatural additives. I also include “trigger foods,” or foods I have difficulty consuming in moderation, on this list.

  • g-free cereals/bread
  • sushi
  • g-free tortillas
  • jelly
  • nut butters
  • nuts
  • trail mix
  • dark chocolate
  • g-free/vegan desserts
  • honey/raw sugar/ natural and caloric sweeteners
  • lattes/cappuccinos (unsweetened)
  • g-free crackers
  • fro-yo
  • greek yogurt
  • cheese

My “red” zone: these are foods that should be eaten more infrequently than once a week, that is maybe once every 10 days or on special occasions. This list includes universally unhealthy foods and gluten-containing foods.

  • anything fried
  • non-vegan, gluten-containing desserts
  • sugary/heavy breakfast foods
  • white-flour foods
  • chips
  • heavy dressings/sauces/soups
  • pizza (not home-made)
  • butter
  • ice cream
  • candy
  • flavored lattes/cappuccinos
  • unnatural sweeteners
  • juice
  • pop (I never really drink pop and haven’t for 7 years, but I put it on the list anyways)

This tiered approach to eating can help to recognize the foods that allow your body to function best; and therefore, feed it for productivity!

Any thoughts?

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

