iamincharge

Day 9 ALREADY!

Posted on: July 6, 2012

So here I am, nine days deep into PUSH and more motivated than EVER. So far I have lost 3 pounds from sticking to a few of my nutritional and fitness components attached to my priority statement. I have completely eliminated gluten for over a week (although I have a slight breakout from the first time in about 10 days; it could be from some sesame rice crackers I ate the other night without reading the ingredients–note to both myself and you: label read!); I have only had miniscule “servings of dairy” a few times a week (for example, 1 tbsp of parmesan at an italian restaurant last night); I’ve only eaten closer than 3 hrs to bedtime twice in the past 9 days (one of which was two nights ago when I completely planned on it and was on a boat all day where “AnnMarie-friendly snacks weren’t readily available, and my snack was an uberhealthy homemade salsa that I ate with a few of those apparently not so “AnnMarie-friendly crackers). How about that PUSH goal you ask? I made it to the library and checked out 3 books on the topic of blogging, committed to spell-checking my blog, read two acclaimed fitness blogs and several articles on meaningful writing. Today I will crack open the first blog book and get educated. Even while vacationing at a friend’s house in Ohio for the past two days, I remained motivated, true to my priorities, and allotted myself some (I believe) deserved relaxation time.

If you are at all confused about the contents of this post I encourage you to backtrack in my post archive to nine days ago when I began my PUSH journey; trust me, it is worth it. This is on my sixth or seventh time making it to day 9– I am not proud to say that I have never fully made it through the 30 days. However, I am extremely proud to say that the knowledge, skills and self-awareness I gain each time I crack open PUSH by my mentor, my hero, Chalene Johnson lead me to this point of 100% confidence that I WILL, reach day 30, and accomplish great things from doing so.

Today is all about the to-do list, its craft, its components, its creation. Since I am a veteran of day 9, I have been keeping a to-do list for quite some time. I find that the iPhone app “Awesomenote” is the best for keeping the guidelines for my day. Chalene instructs 5 steps that govern over to-do list making: 1. Make it at the same time (I make mine for the next day right before bed) 2. Keep it in the same place (I keep mine on my phone, on Awesomenote) 3. Keep your list with you at all times (I am a 19-year-old and my list is on my phone, enough said) 4. Complete three tasks today that relate to your goals (today I will calculate my BMR, note my weight and measurements in my PUSH notebook, get a morning workout in, read 30 pages of a blog book, look up goals for bloggers, and add to my PUSH goal tasks according to my research) 5. Revisit and review several times per day (a step I didn’t adhere to during my previous dabbling in PUSH, in an attempt to “push” through this time around, I will set an alarm on my phone several times a day as a reminder). Is that a run on sentence?

I also add daily to-do’s like “clean car” or  “finish study-guide for chapter 5.” It keeps my day moving along, and the jaws of my friends dropping at the sight of me busily typing, reading, and phone-calling as they decide whether to watch another episode of “Pretty Little Liars”or try to beat their high score on “Temple Run.” I totally thrive on being so productive that my friends make fun of me. It is part of my identity.

If you take anything away anything from my 30-days in PUSH land, take away the to-do list. It is perfect for college kids who can’t decide what to study, moms who forget which kid is headed where, and working people who want to amp up the amount they accomplish in a day. So stop wondering and start to-doing.

Any thoughts?

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

