iamincharge

PUSH it…for 30 days!

Posted on: June 28, 2012

I believe I have posted about this book before, and because it is so life-changeingly amazing, I am going to post about it for 30 DAYS!

The book of wonders, the wellness guru’s bible, the 30-day challenger is PUSH by Chalene Johnson. I have been a fan of everything “Chalene” since I was 14 years old and purchased my first of what seems like hundreds of workout DVD’s: Turbo Jam, the DVD format of  her group exercise class, Turbo Kick (I teach this format and live to twist, hook, and pump it!). Recently, friends have been asking what the deal is with the book I always have on hand and because I simply cannot release MY copy from my grip long enough for my friends to complete the 30 days, I thought I would take you all through my 30-day experience, day by day, so that you can decide if it is worth purchasing for your own benefit.

Obviously I won’t share every detail of the book, as I am a huge supporter of Chalene and the principles for which she stands and therefore cannot cheat her out of a book sale (or several…everyone buy it and join me on this journey:)). However, I will share my responses to the challenges she presents each day and a few details about the contents in the book. So without further adieu–day 1:

I decided last night that I really needed to commit to something to PUSH me in the direction of my occasionally overwhelming, yet attainable goals for myself; I turned back to day 1, pg.3, and defined my life priorities. Chalene instructs readers to do this right out of the gates, before any goal setting commences, so that when the time comes to map out goals one can be sure that they are properly aligned with their life priorities. She also advises leaving off of the list any priority that is so deeply rooted in who you are that it needs no though. One of my rooting priorities? Family. I don’t have to think twice about respecting my parents, enjoying and loving the two of them and my sisters. I am in college so my time with them is for the most part dictated by breaks and I am not the type to jump at every opportunity to avoid family time; I embrace it.

My first step that I wrote in my notebook was my priority brainstorm list:

  • health & fitness (there are aspects of this priority that have become for me, a part of who I am, but there are parts that could definitely use work and committment, and for this reason I left it on the list)
  • emotionally valuable relationships (boyfriend, friends, peers)
  • professionally valuable relationships (employers, coworkers, mentors, fellow students, professors, “connections”)
  • college (in general: academics, social, extracurriculars)
  • helping others communicate with themselves (self-understanding)
  • helping others communicate with the world around them
  • drive

Can you tell I thrive on communication? Hence my blog; hence the journalism major; hence my weekly coffee dates with anyone willing to chat over lattes for a solid two hours.

Now for my top 3:

  1. Health and Fitness
  2. Relationships (combined 2nd and 3rd point from above)
  3. College

The reason I placed health and fitness at the top despite my already neurotic obsession with almost anything that gets a good sweat going and pantry filled with larabars, brown rice, and Shakeology is because I feel there are still things I can change within myself to honor this priority to look and feel my best, to consequentially excel in other area of my life such as my relationships, my academics, and my work/hobby as a fitness instructor.

Chalene calls for identification of habits and actions that are in and out of line with my top priority.

I will honor my top priority by:

  • getting 1 hr of morning exercise 4x per week and 1hr of daily exercise (this means anything from a run, to Insanity, to the classes I teach, to gentile yoga) 7x per week.
  • getting to bed before 11pm before “early” mornings
  • keeping track of food intake and weight
  • listening to my body (while eating/working out/living)
  • not eating after 8pm (this is just a habit that I know sets me up for a really bad time with a bag of trail mix and bowl(s) of ice cream

The following actions would be inconstant with my top priority:

  • skipping workouts
  • getting less than 7 hours of sleep consistently
  • eating unhealthy foods often
  • mindless snacking
  • eating gluten (I am intolerant, so it leaves me feeling less than my best)
  • eating more than one serving of dairy a day (also mildly intolerant to milk products)
  • skipping meals

To honor my number one priority, I will limit:

  • late nights
  • skipping workouts
  • dairy
  • gluten products
  • snacking
  • low-nutrient food

To honor my number one priority, I will make the following changes:

  • stop eating after 8pm
  • plan for indulgences
  • weigh myself often
  • hit the hay earlier
  • track calories daily
  • add 2 weekly morning workouts
  • keep motivation up on weekends

Finally, my priority statement:

My number one priority is to improve and honor my health and fitness by listening to my body and remaining mindful while eating, working out, and moving through daily life so as to demonstrate for others through structured fitness, healthy eating, and respectable habits that when you value your own well-being, you are able to place that same value on the health and well-being of others.

This will undoubtedly be the longest post of the 30-days, so continue reading, hold me accountable, and please, please join me!

 

 

 

Any thoughts?

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

