iamincharge

Guilty, my friends

Posted on: May 30, 2012

Guilt: it looms over us whenever a regrettable decision is made, it reminds us that our conscious is in workable condition, it drives us crazy. It drives me crazy. Guilt is what drove me to decide that 1 week on the Clean program, this round, was long enough. I was getting to the point where I was sticking it out simply to blog about it and to avoid guilt, while at the same time feeling guilty for my every longing for coffee (the largest source of antioxidants in the American diet, by the way). Soooo not worth it.

After doing the program once through last year and to a t, at that, I paid careful attention to the Clean Maintenance program where it advises anyone who has done the program for the full 21 days at least once to consider doing the full cleanse each year either all at once or broken up throughout the year. There are many ways to cleanse healthfully depending on one’s health and fitness goals. It just so happened that my feelings of deprivation were much more prevalent this time around and were leading me to a mindset that was unaligned with my personal health and fitness goals.

Guilt does little more than remind us that there is something to be learned from the situation for which we feel guilty. So instead of berating myself for cutting my cleanse short I will take away the appreciation of healthy food that I gained back, the lack of an incessant need to snack, and the drive to be my healthiest self that has been re-instilled within me. Do I encourage giving a cleanse a spin? Sincerely. I believe that taking even a day to focus on a healthier mindset about food, fitness, and life can be nothing but beneficial. Will I ever attempt the full 21-day Clean program again? Absolutely. It offers amazing health benefits that are key to living a fulfilling life.

Next post: new fitness buddy!

If you have any questions, comments, suggestions about cleansing, feeling guilty, great restaurants, life, etc. please leave them below. I love to chat.

2 Responses to "Guilty, my friends"

Loved this positive take on the whole guilt business!

Thanks! I think it is important to keep a balanced mindset about life in general.

Any thoughts?

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

