iamincharge

Katie the greatie

Posted on: April 5, 2012

Fitness buddies have been few and far between in my posts these days, but today definitely called for the recognition of one: Katie Reines.

I met the ballerina-esque fitness instructor at a picnic for our major (Nutrition, Fitness, and Health) during one of my first days on Purdue’s campus. I was automatically enthralled with her when she announced that back home she worked at both a raw vegan restaurant AND  yoga studio.

“Who IS this girl?!” I thougth to myself. She was the definition of a friend I wanted: health obsessed, spirited, conscious, beyond average. And what a pleasent surprise it was when Katie showed up at our first Group X staff meeting she was a fitness instructor too!

I have since switched my major, but Katie and I remain friends through Group X

and our shared passions. She is the type of person who radiates positivity. Today, when all I really wanted to do was lay in my bed and watch “Dance Moms,” I forced myself to teach an energetic Turbo Kick class and stayed for Katie’s Dance Mania class that follows mine. My mood instantly turned around as we began warming up to “No Hands;” my smile grew as we aerobically ground (this is an “AnnMarie” way of saying “shook our hips with the intent of burning calories,” please feel free to use the term in your day-to-day conversation) to “Wild One;” my whole body felt more alive when Katie and I both added some skillful singing to our movements during “Call Me Maybe.” Her class rocks. That’s why she has one of the highest attendance rates in the Purdue Group X program, because I am not the only one who is inspired and lit up by Katie’s contagious cheer.

I love Katie’s workout attitude: balanced, excited, amazed; but the thing I admire most about Katie is her committment to perfect nutrition. This is where I put her on a bit of a pedestal: she is a fairly strict vegan and by no means a typical eater by any stretch of the imagination. Katie and I share our own private stash of kale at Windsor Dining Court (they keep it in the back for us) but I admittedly skip the kale at least one day a week in exchange for something less healthy. She eats gorgeous salads all the time adorned with flax seeds, banana peppers, tomatoes, practically the rainbow. Her meals are seamlessly perfect and I look to her for inspiration to keep my diet pure, healthy, and cruelty-free. Truth be told, I’ve often hit the dessert line at Windsor with the thought, “I hope Katie doesn’t see me  eating this!” Not that she would judge, belittle, or even say a word about what I chose to eat, the thought would simply be out of desire to be as cool as Katie with her ideal eating habits.

Katie Reines is a brilliant dancer, fitness instructor, eater, and friend; so for that, she is the perfect fitness buddy!

1 Response to "Katie the greatie"

CRYING. CRYING. OMG WTF THIS IS THE SWEEETEST THING IN THE WORRLLDD ❤ YOU INSPIRE ME SOSO MUCH I DON'T KNOW WHAT I WOULD DO WITHOUT YOU ❤ !! I LOVE YOU SOSO MUCH AAHHHHAJSKDHFLASDHFJKLAHSDF

Any thoughts?

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

