iamincharge

Go outside and PLAY!

Posted on: March 26, 2012

No matter what your game (believe me I have, little to no game) the outdoors provide the perfect setting for you to play. By play I mean be active for enough time at a high enough intensity to break a sweat.

On the spectrum of coordination from 11-month old wobbling toddler to the Harlem Globetrotters, I am sitting pretty at about clumsy 7-year old with lopsided pigtails; however, I manage to find plenty of outdoor activities that I love. I run, I bike, I rollerblade. Some shoot hoops, play a pick up game of soccer, or longboard. Although I am a pretty firm believer that there is a big difference between play and exercise (tossing a frisbee around, golfing, etc. are not intense enough for anyone who is slightly aerobically conditioned to reap any physical advancement), I also know that getting some sunshine and fresh air brightens moods, prevents depression, and motivates people.

For me, exercise is like play; so I do it outside as often as I can. But if you feel less than excited at the thought of a scheduled sweat session, force yourself engage in structured exercise and reward yourself with PLAY TIME!

 

Any thoughts?

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

