iamincharge

Play up your playlist

Posted on: March 19, 2012

Yesterday I ran 18 miles–not an ordinary feat for the average college student on a Sunday afternoon, I would say. I don’t mean to toot my own horn, but telling myself that I rock is all that keeps me trucking along past mile 10, so if I seem overly boastful it is simply me self-motivating. Today my feet are blistered, my knees ache, but I got through it thanks to a varied, and upbeat playlist. No matter what your workout, I bet it could benefit from some sick tunes. Here are my preferred jams (today):

“Midnight City” by M83: With a semi-80’s feel, this song kind of makes you feel like youre in a movie, or in spandex sturrups and a windbreaker.

“Wild One’s” by Sia and Flo Rida: I am sorry to all of my friends, but, yes, I am still in love with this song. I am sure my obsession will only last about another week, though. It’s a pretty typical overplayed, easy to dance to, hit with a bumpin beat.

“Levels” by Avicii: This song has yet to get old, and yet to fail me when I needed a boost of bass-induced energy on a jog. It’s better than caffiene.

“Called Out in the Dark” by Snow Patrol: I love off-the-beaten-path music (not that Snow Patrol is all that “underground” or “indie”), especially when it is used in a workout class. I initially heard this song in my friend, John’s, spinning class and loved it! It is just a classic “get you moving” tune.

“Mondo ’77” by Looper: Honesty is my middle name (hence the reason that I will disclose that my middle name is actually Elena, not Honesty”), so I am going to be straight up with you, my readers, you probably wont like this song. I am not here to sell my playlist, just to share it to for anyone who cares. Mondo has been a favorite of mine since dance team senior year of high school, and my teammeates began to dread warmup because they always knew that I would throw my 2-cents in and insist that “Mondo ’77” was the only song worthy of being played as we dynamically stretched. It’s weird and is a background beat with the lyrics “C’mon, C’mon” thrown in here and there. However, if youre feeling extra adventurous in your listening, check it out.

Happy listening!

Any thoughts?

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

