iamincharge

Vegan fun

Posted on: March 15, 2012

My family follows the fairly stereotypical “mom is the baker, dad is the griller” trend on a daily basis. Tonight was no different as my mom prepared sweet potato fried and raw veggie and dip while my dad grilled burgers. Since becoming a vegetarian almost two years ago, when I eat with my family I either fill up on the veggie side dishes that my mom prepares or make my own meal. When I saw my dad plate up the burgers tonight, though, I wanted one. I rarely deprive myself (maybe too rarely) so I applied the trending phrase #YOLO and made myself a cheeseburger.

Ugh. Now, 6 hours later, my stomach is still reaming me for the decision to not only eat the burger, but to finish my meal with a very non-vegan bowl of ice cream. You’d think that after reading books like Veganism and Skinny Bitch (both great titles that I recommend) that I would be so against the consumption of animal products.Well, after reflecting on how I feel right now and what I know I put into my body, I am transitioning to full-fledged veganism. Bottom line: it is better for the environment, better for you short-term well-being, and leaps and bounds above alternative diets for increasing longevity.

The world is becoming more globally aware as a whole; more environmentally careful, more health conscious, and more compassionate. Because of the trending awareness, it is easy to find vegan-friendly foods, products, etc. Here are some examples:

Snack time:

  • apples/bananas and natural peanut butter
  • 100 calorie pack nuts
  • carrots and hummus
  • any Clif or Luna product

Daily products:

  • TOMS shoes
  • Tarte cosmetics
  • Eco tools cosmetics

Acitivities/resources:

  • VegNews e-newsletter
  • PETA newsletter (often include ways to get involved)

Try going vegan ONE day a week! I promise it isn’t THAT hard!

Any thoughts?

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

