iamincharge

Rise and Run

Posted on: February 9, 2012

Congrats to all of you college students who made the conscious decision NOT to loft your bed; this single choice made it approximately 200% easier for you to talk yourself out of bed each morning. Because I demanded sufficient space in my dorm for punching, kicking, and chaturanga-ing, I am stuck with a mental war in my mind each morning over whether or not to trek down side of the mountain that is my bed. My fairly driven warrior side has never lost the battle and I always end up repelling down the rungs of my loft and taking on the day with a vengeance.

I find that it is just a bit easier to get a move-on when I have something enjoyable and active to attend first thing in the morning (i.e. not a lecture). Typically I wake up in enough time to do something that gets my blood pumping before class. Monday is bootcamp class, Tuesday is tabata or Piyo, Wednesday I have a 7:30 lab so forget about it, Thursday is typically yoga in the rec room of my residence hall; however, I knew today was bound to be a crazy one and the likelihood of me getting a good sweat sesh in this afternoon was slim to none.

So, I herded together all of my strongest will power and braved the cold to Piyo class this morning for a solid stretch and stregthening session (by the way I LOVE this class and will be getting certified in less than a month! Here is the link if you are interested in Piyo or Turbo Kick certification: http://www.turbokick.com/.) before my 6-mile tempo run. I did my run at the TREC (our temporary Rec Center at Purdue while the new Rec Center is being built) at a less than pleasing pace. A week ago today I was on the phone crying to my mom about how horrible I was feeling and begging her to come get me (white kid problems) and nurse me back to health as I had just been given a prescription for bronchitis. She told me to take my prescription and see how I felt after 2 doses. I’m so glad she didn’t come remove me from this 18-22 year old haven of West Lafayette because she was right, by last Friday evening I felt much better. Nonetheless, I didn’t run at all last week and have since only done two very short runs, so this morning as I ventured beyond 5 miles for the first time in almost two weeks, my body responded unwillingly.

Regardless, I am proud of myself for completing a 2 hour workout before most of campus was ready to face the challenge of grounding themselves from their lofted beds. I will leave with these few facts(as proven by me, a very reliable source :/)about morning workouts:

1. Working out in the morning will ramp your metabolism for the day, providing you with more energy and fewer cravings (I stayed awake during Chemistry and never got the urge to snack around 3 as I usually do).

2. If you go to bed earlier, that alarm won’t sound so “alarming” (I went to bed at midnight and got a solid 7 hours, and did so by planning my day and utilizing spare moments to complete necessary tasks like studying, cleaning and emailing).

3. You never regret working out, but may regret skipping a workout.

Tomorrow: Planning for success. (Workout planning, meal planning, etc.)

3 Responses to "Rise and Run"

omfg i have been sleeping in instead of working out lately and i legit CANNOT keep my eyes open in math at 2:30!! what the heck!! i deff gotta get back on track!! you are so awesome LOVELOVELOVE thanks again for the inspiration!!! and u are a great writer!

1:30 comes around and I would kill for a nap (I am unfortunately always in Chem or Stats at that time). It always seems like I am reinvigorated on the walk home after class, though. Afternoon blood-sugar slumps, and one can only drunk so much coffee. If I ever figure out a fail-proof trick to remaining 100% energetic all day long, you’ll be the first to know.

Wonderful, what a weblog it is! This webpage presents useful information to us,
keep it up.

Any thoughts?

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

